Chickadees

My mom and Gary got Silas a bird house that had birdseed all over the outside of it. It attracted bunches of birds, who picked the seeds off. Then, much to my surprise, a pair of chickadees showed up and started building a nest. They used some of Ender’s fur–I saw them flying in with tufts of it sticking out of their beaks.

Eventually, I heard little squeaks coming from the house–they sounded just like tiny rubber ducks. The parents flew back and forth, bringing food to the little ones.

Bringing the grub.

Bringing the grub.

One day, I noticed that there were faces peering out of the hole–and I knew that the parents were out of the house.

DSC_9375I looked away for a moment, and looked back just in time to see the graceless tumble that was this chickadee’s first flight. He landed on the porch, where he took a few unsteady hops.

DSC_9394When I looked again, he had flown off, and the house is empty now. They provided quite a lot of excitement for us, but the best was the day they left the nest. Silas and I were both sad and awed to see them go.

 

 

Leave a Reply

