China Party–All the rest

Masks from Chinatown. I don't know what they are supposed to be, but Silas decided they were all the Monkey King.

Masks from Chinatown. I don’t know what they are supposed to be, but Silas decided they were all the Monkey King.

People seem to think maaaaybe I went a little overboard with the party thing. And, okay, maaaybe I did.

Porch decorated with lanterns and streamers. Thank goodness the weather was nice!

Porch decorated with lanterns and streamers. Thank goodness the weather was nice!

Here are my excuses/rationales:

  1. I am a theater professional. I create events and experiences. This is an event/experience.
  2. My parents used to do really great birthday parties, and I see this as a way of loving my kids the way I was loved. Doing a party like this makes me think of the times when my childhood family was happiest.
  3. It was not expensive or time-consuming at all.
  4. I don’t do a bunch for Christmas, perhaps because I don’t see Christmas as a chance for new creativity. Same colors, same snow men, yada yada. But a birthday party with an interesting theme can generate a lot of ideas.
  5. I had fun. I only spoil my children in ways that I find entertaining for myself.
Lillian, whose mother also throws creative parties, playing with a dragon from Chinatown

Lillian, whose mother also throws creative parties, playing with a dragon from Chinatown

As a subpoint to #4, let’s be clear, if Silas had asked for a tractor party, I would have just stuck a toy John Deere on a cake and called it good. When I was listing different things he might want to do for his party (dinosaurs, Sesame Street, Wild Things, etc), he locked on to the idea of China. I thought that was pretty cool, honestly–to be only three and that excited about another culture.

Petra checks out the lanterns

Petra checks out the lanterns

My mom–herself a party nut, far more than I’ll ever be–went a little wild in Chinatown the week before the party. My mother-in-law found lanterns at a craft store. I also had ordered some things online. The decorations ended up being pretty great.

JC made this banner, using some stencils I found. In theory, it says things like "Love" and "Fortune." I bet when an actual Chinese-literate person reads this, I will learn that it says "Shrimp and Mixed Vegetable."

JC made this banner, using some stencils I found. In theory, it says things like “Love” and “Fortune.” I bet when an actual Chinese-literate person reads this, I will learn that it says “Shrimp and Mixed Vegetable.”

 

My former coworker from China sent Silas a present from China, and he was unspeakably thrilled. 🙂

Activities, planned:

DSC_2194

Dragon puppets

60596_10151840809997235_1729398387_n

Kids painted dragon masks and wooden fans. The fans were left over favors from a friend’s wedding.

DSC_2326

Elisabeth collects her handiwork.

DSC_2126

Eating lots of interesting food. James really took a shine to Granny.

Priscilla, from the Dominican Republic, is staying with our friends for the school year. I can't imagine what she must have thought of this odd Chinese/American birthday party...

Priscilla, from the Dominican Republic, is staying with our friends for the school year. I can’t imagine what she must have thought of this odd Chinese/American birthday party…

DSC_2127

Practicing with chopsticks

DSC_2239

Petra’s not sure what she thinks of the mask…

DSC_2247

This is one of my favorite photographs I have ever taken. I love everything about it.

DSC_2294

1011517_10151840825742235_255331707_n

DSC_2311

Activities, unplanned but inevitable:

Hanging out with babies.

DSC_2103

Lillian and Petra check out Esau. At the playdate we had the day before, Petra kissed and loved on this baby so much that his head was all slobbery when I finally tore her away. At the party, though, she seemed less certain of him.

DSC_2110

Arthur and his dad, checking out the action.

DSC_2198

Jeepers creepers!

Playing in the river.

DSC_2153

DSC_2174

I love all these beautiful girls with their backlit halos!

DSC_2157

She looks like she should be in some sort of strange advertisement shoot…

DSC_2169

Gathering rocks to throw in the river. No one got hit, but there were some close calls!

DSC_2179

Bethany said, “When we saw her outfit, all I could say was, ‘We do not doubt Elisabeth’s commitment to SparkleMotion.'”

DSC_2162 DSC_2167

Babies, making their own fun.

DSC_2306

Playing the “what can we put in the big boots” game. Very popular.

DSC_2327

DSC_2349

DSC_2344

DSC_2199

Big kids, finding their own ways to play.


DSC_2301 DSC_2324

DSC_2339 DSC_2330

DSC_2337

Mom and Gary got Silas a Racin’ Rody for his birthday. The kids enjoyed bouncing around on it–sometimes three at once!

1269190_10151837475199476_577127166_o

Priscilla, an IVEPer who is staying with Monica’s family, took this picture with her Kindle or something. I love how it came out.

At the end, we had a little “Petra is almost one!” moment–Granny won’t be here for her birthday, so she gave her her present and card early. Petra really looked as if she were reading the card…

DSC_2383

Andy Clingempeel taught me about using the stuff in the photo to bounce the light all pretty. Petra conveniently held the card perfectly.

I’d say it was fun for all ages.

DSC_2209


10 responses to “China Party–All the rest

  1. Seeing these pic’s made me happy all over again .. It was an awesome day, you did a beautiful job on the party and I can’t wait for Silas’s 4th!
    Seeing these pic’s let me relive a beautiful day/party. You really out-did yourself Alicia. The pic’s are great and ordering Chinese food for dinner finished a very lovely day .. indeed !

  2. Pingback: Who’s afraid of the big back yard? | Cinnamon&Sassafras·

  3. Pingback: 4 | Cinnamon&Sassafras·

  4. Pingback: Who’s afraid of the big back yard?·

Leave a Reply

